Great Zimbabwe University is one of the state-owned tertiary institutions in Zimbabwe. It is located in Masvingo Province and is administered by the Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education.

Great Zimbabwe University
Great zimbawe university logo.jpg
Great Zimbabwe University Logo
Other name
Former name
Masvingo State University
Motto Knowledge , Culture, Development
Type State University
Parent institution
Government of Zimbabwe
Academic affiliation
Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education
Chancellor Robert Mugabe
Vice-Chancellor Rungano Mudadirwa Zvobgo
Location Masvingo, Masvingo Province, Zimbabwe



The Great Zimbabwe University, then known as Masvingo State University, was established through the recommendations of the Chetsanga Report of August 1995 which proposed the devolution of Teachers’ and Technical Colleges into degree awarding institutions that would eventually become universities in their own right.[1]

The University was launched in June 1999 as the Masvingo Degree Programme of the University of Zimbabwe with 120 students enrolled for a two-year In-Service Bachelor of Education Primary School degree.[1] Professor Obert Edward Maravanyika was appointed as the first acting Pro Vice Chancellor.[1]

In 2002, Masvingo University College enrolled its first group of one hundred (100) ‘A’ level certificate holders on the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) degree programme.[1]


On December 22, 2002, Masvingo University College became Masvingo State University established by an Act of Parliament Chapter 22.24 No.11/2002. On 5 March 2003, 100 first year Bachelor of Arts students and 120 first year Bachelor of Education (Primary) students were the first to register under the new Masvingo State University.


Related Profiles You Might Want to See


  1. Main
  2. City
  3. Mashava
  4. Mucheke
  5. School of Social Sciences
  6. School of Gender and Cultural Studies
  7. Works and Estates
  8. Centre for African and Asian Studies

Faculties and Programmes

Faculty of Culture and Heritage Studies

Department of Archaeology and Museum Studies

Department of Heritage Studies

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Commerce

Department of Accounting and Information Systems

Postgraduate Programmes

Faculty of Education

Department of Adult and Continuing Education

Department of Curriculum Studies

Faculty of Socail Sciences

Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology

Postgraduate Programmes

Department of Psychology

Postgraduate Programmes

Department of Human Resource Management

Postgraduate Programmes

Department of Rural and Urban Development

School of Women, Gender and Cultural Studies


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 , History of GZU,Great Zimbabwe University, retrieved:10 Feb 2015"
  2. 2.0 2.1 , Faculty of Commerce Departments and Programmes,Great Zimbabwe University, retrieved:10 Feb 2015"
  3. 3.0 3.1 , Faculty of Education Departments and Programmes,Great Zimbabwe University, retrieved:10 Feb 2015"
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 , Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology,Great Zimbabwe University, retrieved:10 Feb 2015"