Harare City Football Club is a Zimbabwean Premier soccer league football club owned by the City of Harare.

Harare City Football Club
Harare City FC Logo.jpg
Harare City FC Logo
Full name Harare City Football Club
Nickname(s) Sunshine Boys
Founded 1989
Ground Rufaro Stadium
Owner City of Harare
Chairman Alois Masepe
League Premier Soccer League
Website Club home page



Harare City was formed in 1989 by City of Harare employees. It's initial name was City of Harare FC and it played in the Harare Social League. In 1992 it applied for affiliation into the ZIFA Division 3A League and stayed there for two seasons, winning promotion into the Division 2A League in 1995. it however went back to Harare Social League due to financial reasons and played for five seasons before joining the Highfield Area Zone League in 2000.

2000 to current

In 2000 the club changed its name to Bhanya Mulenge FC but changed back to City of Harare FC in 2002. In 2008, the club rejoined the Division 3A League and won promotion after just that one season into Division 2A. When they started playing in Division 2A (2009) they renamed to “Harare City FC”.

Under coach Arthur Tutani, the club gained promotion into the Northern Region Division One League in 2010. Unfortunately, Tutani left the club to join Monomotapa FC. He was replaced by Bigboy Mawiwi, who led the club into the Premier Soccer League at the end of the 2011 season.In their debut season in the PSL, they finished a credible 8th on the standings. In 2012 they came number 2 losing the league title to Dynamos on goal difference.


Harare City FC has produced top players such as Gilbert Mushangazhike, Tendai Mwarura, Herbert Zimbeva and David Sengu.



Related Profiles You Might Want to See


Some Articles About Harare City FC

FC Platinum Beat Harare City 2-0 In PSL Season Opener Fri Mar 29 2019

FC Platinum Coach Mapeza Wary Of Harare City In League Opener Thu Mar 28 2019

Ryan Harrison Quits Harare City FC, Leaves For Britain Tue Mar 19 2019

See more news on Harare City FC