Matabeleland North Province which covers parts of the Matabeleland region is one of the ten provinces in Zimbabwe. The province covers northeastern parts of the country and stretches to the country's border with Zambia. Lupane is the administrative town of the province.


Districts and Population Distribution

The province has 9 districts which are Victoria Falls, Bubi, Hwange, Hwange Urban, Umguza, Tsholotsho, Nkayi, Binga and Lupane. According to the 2012 census results, the province has a population of 749 017. The male population was 360 766 whilst the female population stood at 388 241.[1] The Population is distributed in the respective districts which are as follows:

Victoria Falls

Hwange Rural

Hwange Urban







Main Attractions

Mat North Province is home to the Mighty Victoria Falls which is one of the seven natural wonders of the world, an international tourist resort and a celebrated historical area. Victoria Falls is surrounding by Five Star hotels and lodges which cater for both local and foreign tourists. Activities include game viewing in the Victoria Falls Game Park, bungee jumping, canoeing and fishing. The province is also home to the Hwange National Park, the biggest wildlife conservancy in the country and one of the biggest in the Southern Africa region.


Related Profiles You Might Want to See

Some Articles About Matabeleland North Province

29 Primary Schools In Matabeleland North Province Record Zero Percent Pass Rate Fri Jan 25 2019

Mnangagwa To Address Rally In Matabeleland North Province Fri Jul 13 2018

See more news on Matabeleland North Province


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 , Census Results 2012, Mat North Province,Zim Stat, published:2012,retrieved:16 Feb 2015"